A Guide to Cheshire from a Shrieval Perspective

Cheshire is a large county and has a population of over one million inhabitants. It is bordered by Merseyside, Greater Manchester, Derbyshire, Staffordshire, Shropshire and Clwyd.


Cheshire Police are led by Chief Constable Simon Byrne. The Constabulary HQ is at Clemonds Hey, Oakmere Road, Winsford, Cheshire, CW7 2UA.

The Deputy Chief Constable is Janette McCormick and there are two Temporary Assistant Chief Constables, Guy Hindle and Mark Roberts.

The area controlled by Cheshire Police is divided into three Basic Control Units: Northern, Eastern and Western.

The Northern Area encompasses the two unitary authorities of Warrington and Halton. The Area Commander for the Northern Area is Chief Superintendent Sarah Boycott.

The Eastern Area mirrors the boundaries of Cheshire East Council and has neighbourhood policing teams in Congleton, Crewe, Knutsford, Macclesfield, Nantwich and Wilmslow. The Area Commander for the Eastern Area is Acting Chief Superintendent Andrew Southcott.

The Western Area covers the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and has six neighbourhood policing teams: Chester Inner, Chester Outer, Ellesmere Port and Neston, Northwich, Winsford and Western Rural. The Area Commander for the Western Area is Chief Superintendent Phil Jones.

Police and Crime Commissioner

The Police and Crime Commissioner for Cheshire is David Keane..

Phone:  01606 364000


Cheshire has Crown Courts in Chester, Knutsford and Warrington and Magistrates’ (County) Courts in Crewe, Halton, Macclesfield and Warrington.

His Honour Judge Elgan Edwards is the Hon. Recorder for Chester and the Resident Judge for Cheshire.


HM Coroner for Cheshire is Dr Nicholas Rheinberg, who is based at the Town Hall, Sankey Street, Warrington.

Probation Service

The Cheshire Probation Service is based in Chester, with Offender Management Units at Chester, Crewe, Macclesfield, Runcorn, Warrington and Winsford, plus officers at each of the Crown and County Courts.

Prison Service

Cheshire has three prisons: HMP Styal at Wilmslow for female adults and young offenders; HMP Risley at Warrington for adult males; and HMP Thorn Cross, a Young Offenders’ Institution at Appleton Thorn, near Warrington.

Local Authorities

Cheshire is managed by four Unitary Authorities: Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Warrington.

Parliamentary Constituencies

There are eleven Parliamentary Constituencies in the county:

City Of Chester, Congleton, Crewe & Nantwich, Eddisbury, Ellesmere Port & Neston, Halton, Macclesfield, Tatton, Warrington North, Warrington South and Weaver Vale.

Share with